Complete Story


Scholarship Update

by Zach Duke

The Association for Financial Technology has been awarding college, university, business, and technical school scholarships to deserving employees of member companies and their sons, daughters, stepchildren, spouses, grandchildren, and wards since 1985. The awards are named for James E. Stoner, one of the organization's founders, Allan W. Balch, a two-time President of AFT; and James Bannister, former AFT Executive Director. 

I continued to be amazed by the commitment of the volunteer board and leadership from our membership. That has continued this year in my role as the Immediate Past President and Scholarship Committee Chair. The scholarship program would not be in the place we are today without the effort of the former Scholarship Committee Chairs.  

The AFT Scholarship Program is an excellent example of the association's commitment to give back to its members. The program is open to all member companies, and each company has an opportunity to nominate two students. This year we increased our total applications to thirty-eight from twenty-six of our members. Several member companies have internal processes to award the two spots for their member company, and the quality of the candidates this year were fantastic.

A special thank you to Xan Kasprzak, Russ Bernthal, and Bob Ezell for reviewing the applications and scoring the essays. This year the association was able to give $2,500 to five deserving students. The recipients are:

2019 Scholarship Winners

  • Julia Jesko, Compliance Systems
  • Srinjia Cherivirala, Fiserv
  • Marley Belanger, Geezeo
  • Louise Hlobik, FIS
  • Malia Morgan, Jack Henry

Over the scholarship program’s thirty-four years, the association has awarded forty-seven scholarships giving away $121,432. I would be remiss if I didn't encourage you to facilitate your organization in communicating the opportunity to your employees for next year.

Printer-Friendly Version